Clint Bowyer


Darrel Lanigan Wins Dream Prelim

Darrel Lanigan Wins Dream Prelim

June 13, 2018

In Friday afternoon's $5,000 to win contest, Darrell Lanigan placed second in his heat race and later led the final five circuits of the 25-lap headliner to grab his first feature win of 2018 over Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, and Dale McDowell! Later that evening, Darrell ran fifth in his heat race before moving up to sixteenth in the 25-lapper, which boasted a $10,000 payday. On Saturday at Eldora in the grand finale, Darrell scored the win in his loaded heat race to claim the pole position for the $100,000 to win crown jewel spectacular, but later slipped back to thirteenth at the unfurling of the checkered flag in the 100-lap affair.

Don O'Neal won his heat race prior to claiming an impressive runner-up effort in the 25-lap sprint behind only victor Jonathan Davenport. Later that evening, Don picked up another heat race triumph, led early in the $10,000 to win headliner, and eventually earned a strong fourth place showing in the 25-lapper behind only race winner Earl Pearson, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, and Dale McDowell. At Eldora on Saturday in the $100,000 to win grand finale, Don ran second in his stacked heat race before winding up ninth in the final finishing order of the 100-lap crown jewel spectacular.